Turnout for early voting in San Miguel County has been “a little bit” slow, according to Louanna Ortega, chief deputy for the clerk of courts. 

As of Wednesday, 121 of the county’s 19,038 registered voters had cast their ballots for the Nov. 2 election, which includes school board races and renewing a City of Las Vegas Schools tax levy, Ortega said.

Ortega believes one of the reasons for the low turnout is that candidates for City of Las Vegas School Board are all unopposed. West Las Vegas School Board, however, has a contested race between incumbent Christine Ludi and challenger Joe Gallegos and incumbent Linda Montoya and challenger Carla Benevidez.

“The City of Las Vegas (Schools) has a bond issue and tax question,” Ortega said, referring to the request for voters to renew a 2-mill levy. “Those are very important.”

In Mora County, 41 of the 3,656 registered voters had cast their ballots as of Wednesday, said Vivian Trujillo, bureau of elections and deputy clerk. There are two contested races.

In Mora Independent School District, David Maestas and Audra Vigil are vying for Michael Benjamin’s seat. Benjamin is not seeking re-election.

Wagon Mound has a three-way race for mayor. Incumbent Ferdinando “Luis” Lopez is challenged by former mayor Andres Martinez and Gabriel Derek Maestas.

Early voting runs through Oct. 30 at:

•San Miguel County Clerk’s Office at 500 W. National Ave., Suite 113, between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Oct. 30

•Ribera Community Cultural Center, 4 County Road B40, Tuesday, through Saturday, 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.

•Mora County Clerk’s Office, 1 Courthouse Drive, 7 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. Monday through Thursday and 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. on Oct. 29 and 30.

Residents can register to vote at the clerk’s offices in their county and vote on the same day during the early voting period. A resident will need to bring a picture identification and a document with their physical address, like a utility bill or bank statement.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Thank you for taking part in our commenting section. We want this platform to be a safe and inclusive community where you can freely share ideas and opinions. Comments that are racist, hateful, sexist or attack others won’t be allowed. Just keep it clean. Do these things or you could be banned:

• Don’t name-call and attack other commenters. If you’d be in hot water for saying it in public, then don’t say it here.

• Don’t spam us.

• Don’t attack our journalists.

Let’s make this a platform that is educational, enjoyable and insightful.

Email questions to pscherer@orourkemediagroup.com.

Share your opinion


Join the conversation

Recommended for you