Election returns

-A A +A

Las Vegas Optic

It's going to be Democrat Martin Heinrich vs. Republican Heather Wilson in a U.S. Senate race to replace New Mexico Sen. Jeff Bingaman. However, Democrat Hector Balderas took San Miguel County by more than 3-to-1, while Wilson handily defeated Greg Sowards 2-to-1 in the Republican primary.

In area state legislative races, whose districts stretch beyond San Miguel County, Sens. Pete Campos and Phil Griego and challenger Tomas Salazar have won their home counties. That bodes well for Campos and Salazar, since the majority of voters in their districts are in San Miguel County, but Griego's district goes into Santa Fe County, where his two opponents, Nicole Castellano and Jack Sullivan, reside.

In San Miguel County, Campos bested Thomas Garcia 2,262-1,237, and Salazar overtook Rep. Richard Vigil 2,339-1,806. The other county results are not yet available.

Unofficially decisive totals in San Miguel County include:

• In a five-person county treasurer's race, Bertha Bustamante won with 1,863 votes to Jennifer Lafebre's 1,333 votes, Viola Vigil's 957 voters, Mark Guerin's 631 votes ad John P. Martinez's 239 votes.

• Incumbent Nick Leger beat Kenneth C. Medina 504-457 for the District 5 seat on the County Commission.

• Gilbert Sena beat Joel Baca 628-546 for the District 4 County Commission seat.

For complete election results, see the Optic's Wednesday edition or visit www.lasvegasoptic.com later tonight.