All-district teams: 12 locals

-A A +A

Jaramillo is Coach of the Year after leading Lady Cards to district title

By Dave Kavanaugh

Adrian Jaramillo and his Lady Cardinals orchestrated one of the more impressive showings of the spring, reaching the final four in the Class 3A state softball tournament.

Jaramillo earned Coach of the Year honors in District 2-3A after guiding Robertson to the regular-season championship.
He was one of a dozen Las Vegans honored by the district, which released the list of awards for softball and baseball on May 20.

Under Jaramillo’s tutelage, the Lady Cards improved from 2012 to 2013, finishing 15-14 overall, 7-5 district, and going 1-2 in the state tournament.

But they made bigger strides this season, finishing 20-10 overall, a district-best 10-2, and 3-2 at state.
Joining their head coach in collecting all-district awards: junior Alicia Jaramillo, seniors Elena Garcia and Megan Esquibel, and sophomore Elicia Trujillo.

Esquibel and Garcia, along with fellow senior Jamie Fernandez, were also honored with selection to the North All-Star softball team, as the Optic reported last week.

West Las Vegas’ softball team had two players — sophomore Deanna Bustos and junior Celeste Trujillo — chosen to the all-district squad.

The young Lady Dons finished 10-16 overall and 5-7 in District 2-3A, earning a trip to state. They lost in the opening round at eventual runner-up Hope Christian — the same team that eliminated Robertson.

Heather Ulibarri is another Lady Don who picked up postseason accolades, getting picked for the North All-Star team.
Other all-district softball honorees: Shania Dorrance, Kallista Dorrance and Mariah Romero of Raton; Gabby Gonzales, Amber Sky Lujan and Analisa Martinez of Pojoaque Valley; and Alyssa Bozzuto and Brittany Sanders of Taos.

• • •

Meanwhile, three Robertson Cardinals and two West Las Vegas Dons earned All-District 2-3A recognition in baseball.
Junior Eleazar Allen, senior Michael Salazar and junior Keanu Baca were the RHS players selected.

The Redbirds compiled a 14-15 overall mark with an even 6-6 tally in district play. Robertson made state but went 0-2 in a first-round best-of-three series at Bloomfield.

West sophomore Jorge Gallardo and junior Mike Ortiz were tabbed to the all-2-3A lineup.

The Dons went 12-17 overall and 2-10 in district after a promising start. They earned a berth in the state tourney but had to play at St. Michael’s, losing twice in the first-round series.

Taos’ Mark Montoya was named Coach of the Year after leading the Tigers to the baseball title.

Also honored: Keith Imberger, Isiah Concha, Larry Martinez and Matt Sanchez of Taos; Cam Baird, Caleb Wood and Darrick Stoecker of Raton; and Logan Montoya and Andres Romero of Pojoaque Valley.