Today's News

  • Editorial cartoon - Feb. 20, 2015
  • Another Perspective - Now is the time for capital outlay reform

    This legislative session, the legislature is expected to approve a capital outlay bill expending more than $200 million for capital projects without the benefit of any formal system for planning, vetting or selecting the projects. New Mexico is regretably unique among the states in its folly.

    This free-for-all system is in dire need of improvement to ensure that the state’s investment in capital infrastructure yields the greatest return possible for the taxpayer.

  • Governor’s policies aren’t child friendly

    By Gerald Ortiz y Pino

    As a politician, I can state unequivocally that “I love all children.” They are our future; they are our most vulnerable citizens, needing the greatest attention; history will judge us by how we’ve treated them, and (never forget) they make for great photo ops.

  • Another Perspective - Right-to-work bill would be good for New Mexico

    By Pete Domenici

    I am writing in response to those who oppose the proposed right-to- work legislation. While I respect those who oppose, they are flat out wrong on this issue.

    The truth is, passing right-to-work legislation would be good for New Mexico’s workers and our economy. But unfortunately, some politicians are trying to turn this into a partisan battle even though a majority of Americans support it.

    It’s not hard to see why.

  • Nat Gold Players offers original one-act play

    Submitted to the Optic

    The original one-act play, “Sheltered Women,” will have its premiere performance on Friday, Saturday and Sunday, Feb. 20, 21, and 22. Nat Gold Players will present the play at Charlie’s Spic and Span event center at 7 p.m. on Friday and Saturday and 2 p.m. on Sunday. Tickets are $10 for adults and $8 for students and seniors and can be obtained from Tome on the Range or any cast member or Nat Gold Player board member.

  • Noticias - Feb. 20, 2015

    Submit your calendar items and notices to mlopez@lasvegasoptic.com.
    • Fourth Judicial District Court Appointed Special Advocates needs volunteers. The local CASA program is taking applications for volunteers. Call CASA at 454-0223 or visit the office to work with children who have been removed from their homes. Because of abuse and neglect. Children are in state custody and living in foster care.

  • Que Pasa - Feb. 20, 2015

    • “Flores and Friends” featuring Yasmin Flores, Linda King, Andre Garcia-Nuthmann will take place at 7 p.m. on Friday, Feb. 20 at Kennedy Lounge on the Highlands campus. Admission is $10 and it is a fundraiser for the purchase of instrumental music.

  • Promotional video shot at spinning mill

    The Mora Valley Spinning Mill will soon be featured in New Mexico True promotional videos. Recently, Patricia Antelles and Melinda Hess of Convivial Design Inc. visited the mill, located in the heart of Mora, to capture footage for the video.

    Some of the footage recorded included various shots of the woven rugs, the wool-to-yarn manufacturing process, and the coffee bar.

  • Mora County Calendar and Senior Lunch Menu - Feb. 20, 2015


    1 p.m. —  Mora High School Rangerettes and Rangers basketball vs. Mesa Vista, junior varsity and varsity, away

    High school seniors at Adams State Discovery Day
    1 p.m. —  Mora High School Rangerettes and Rangers basketball vs. McCurdy, junior varsity and varsity, away

    High school seniors at Adams State Discovery Day

    4 p.m. —  Mora Middle School Rangers basketball vs. West Las Vegas, home

  • Palabras Pintorescas: Gascon: The heart of snow country

    There is a cloudless sky overhead, and it is a bright 55 day in mid February as I write this. Yes, it is too warm, too sunny, and the snowpack melts quickly. That is not good news here.

    However, I have just discovered a weather story in one of my very old newspapers. This is from the 1939, February edition of the monthly “Valmora Sun.” published by our tuberculosis patients who were “taking the cure” there, with my doctor father, Carl Gallenthien, where I was born and raised.