Three locals all-state baseball

-A A +A
By Dave Kavanaugh

Las Vegas high school baseball hit a triple when the all-state teams were announced this past week.

West Las Vegas senior Jared Gallegos and Robertson’s Nicholas Aragon and Girard Maestas all earned selection to the Class 3A all-state team.

Gallegos was chosen as one of six first-team all-state pitchers. He also made the second team as an outfielder.

As one of two main starting pitchers for the Dons this past season, Gallegos went 3-3 and posted a 5.35 earned run average with 67 strikeouts and 15 walks.

Gallegos also was a key hitter in the WLV batting order, going .603 with 28 base hits, 13 doubles, two triples and two home runs.

“That was one of my goals my senior season, to make all-state,” Gallegos said Wednesday. He said initially he thought he hadn’t made the team but the news got better.

Aragon, a junior, was selected to the all-state second team as a third baseman and as a pitcher; he also was a leader on offense. He hit .494 with 28 singles, five doubles, six triples and three home runs. He also notched 27 runs batted in and stole 13 bases. His numbers for batting average, total hits, triples, RBI and steals paced the Cardinal sluggers.

As a pitcher, he went 3-2 with 47 strikeouts and a 4.58 ERA over 47 and a third innings.

Maestas made the second team as an outfielder; he also hit well this past year. His ledger included 28 singles, four doubles, three triples and three homers, along with a team-high 14 walks and a team-high 39 runs. His .447 batting average was second highest for RHS.

Both Dean Gallegos’ Dons (8-19, 7-8 District 2-3A) and Shannon Aragon’s Cardinals (11-15, 4-11) qualified for the state tournament this past season.

The Class 3A all-state first teamers: pitchers Matt Forsyth (Hope Christian), Colin Friedman (St. Mike’s), Jared Gallegos (WLV), Alex Garcia (Bloomfield), Aaron Ordoñez (Cobre), Michael Hernandez (St. Mike’s); outfielders Danny Udero (Cobre), Matthew Miramontes (Bloomfield), Irving Gomez (Socorro); catcher Shane Hamishige (St. Mike’s); first basemen Regan Ramos (Cobre) and Joel Vega (Hope); second baseman Nick Nelson (Sandia Prep); shortstops Jay Dominguez (Cobre) and Michael Eaton (Sandia Prep); third baseman Aaron Ordoñez (Cobre); and designated hitter George Marquez (Raton).

Bloomfield’s Alex Garcia was tabbed Player of the Year, and Frank DeHoyos is Coach of the Year.