St. Mike's ends RHS run

-A A +A
By Dave Kavanaugh

SANTA FE — The only wrestling team in the district to field grapplers in all 14 weight classes, St. Michael’s advanced most of them to the championship round Saturday.

In the process, the Horsemen snapped Robertson’s 12-year monopoly on the District 1A-3A title, taking the banner on its home floor at Perez-Shelley Gymnasium.

“Congratulations to St. Mike’s,” said RHS head coach Richard Martinez, who has shepherded the Cardinals to most of those district titles as well as a string of state championships. “They did well. Our kids did their best; they tried.”

The Cardinals rolled up 182 team points to the Horsemen’s 206, finishing as runner-up. Tucumcari was third, followed closely by West Las Vegas. Pecos and Sandia Prep were fifth and sixth, respectively.

WLV coach Robert Alarcon also credited St. Mike’s with a good season: “They’re for real.”

The Horsemen’s district crown, preceded by an impressive seventh-place showing in the all-class Joe Vivian Tournament, installs them as the prohibitive favorite in this weekend’s state tournament.

Both RHS and WLV will be well-represented at state, though neither will take a full squad.

Robertson qualified wrestlers in 12 of 14 classes and garnered four individual district champions — Johnathan Lucero (140 lbs.), Daniel Martinez (152), Estevan Vigil (171), Aaron Archuleta (heavyweight) — and another five runners-up.

For Daniel Martinez, it was a fourth title in as many years. “That’s hard to do,” said Coach Martinez. “To get four district championships as a junior.”

West had three district runners-up Saturday and nine wrestlers make the cut for state. The Dons had only 11 in the district tourney and Alarcon had to shuffle the lineup a bit to get representation in the lighter classes.

RHS results:

103 Forfeit

112 Charlie Armijo, 2-1, 2nd

119 James Gonzales, 2-1, 2nd

125 Jose Estrada, 0-2

130 Jeremy Valdez, 1-1, 3rd

135 Michael Casados, 1-1, 3rd

140 John Lucero, 2-0, champ

145 Troy Estrada, 1-1, 2nd

152 Daniel Martinez, 2-0, champ

160 Dmitri Almanzar, 1-1, 2nd

171 Estevan Vigil, 2-0, champ

189 Matthew Gurule, 1-1, 2nd

215 Estevan Baca, 1-1, 3rd

Hwt Aaron Archuleta, 2-0, champ

 WLV results:

103 Brandon Maddox, 0-2, 4th

112 Chris Cavazos, 0-2

119 Frankie Gonzale, 0-2

125 Ross Valdez, 1-1, 2nd

130 Forfeit

135 Forfeit

140 Forfeit

145 Ryan Aragon, 0-2, 4th

152 Conrad Mares, 1-1, 2nd

160 Jayvis Medrano, 1-1, 3rd

171 Lorenzo Morales, 1-1 3rd

189 Caleb Marquez, 0-2, 4th

215 Manuel Silva, 1-1, 2nd

Hwt Brandon Chavez, 0-2, 4th