Six Cards all-state in football

-A A +A

But this year’s North-South lineup bereft of Las Vegas talent

By Dave Kavanaugh

Reflecting the team’s strong late-season and postseason, six Robertson players were named to the New Mexico High School Coaches Association Class 3A All-State Football Team.

Robertson’s Dominic Lucero (junior, running back), Kenny Yara (junior, linebacker) and Joe Armijo (senior, defensive back) were named to the first team.

James Gonzales (senior, running back), Diego Trujillo (junior, offensive lineman) and Francisco “Coco” Arguello (sophomore, linebacker) were tabbed to the second team.

Runner-up Silver, which came up on the short end of a 34-7 tally in the state championship game on Dec. 7 in Las Vegas, had 13 players named to the all-state teams. St. Michael’s, the top-rated team in Class 3A all season, had eight selections, including seven on the first team. Daniel Ortega accounted for three of those, however, earning first-team honors as a running back, a linebacker and a punter. Taos, which edged Robertson for the District 2-3A title, had five all-staters.

Robertson lost to both St. Mike’s and Taos in the regular season but beat those teams during its playoff run.

All-state teams were announced Friday by Buster Mabrey of the NMHSCA.

The honors helped ease the sting from an earlier slight. The Class 2A-3A North All-Star team — released on Wednesday by the NMHSCA — had a total of zero players from Las Vegas on it. The omission drew the ire of a number of parents and other fans of Robertson, in particular. They took to Facebook and other channels to voice displeasure, given the fact that the Cardinals won the state championship and got key contributions from several seniors but didn’t land a single North All-Star selection.

It’s possible that players not initially selected will be invited to play in the all-star game after all, should the lineup need additional players. The honor is reserved to members of the school year’s graduating class.

The 2A-3A North-South football game will take place in July at an Albuquerque stadium, relocating after years in the Meadow City.