Several RHS soccer players all-district

-A A +A

Lady Cards won third straight district title this season

By Dave Kavanaugh

Head coach Ray Parks and six of his Robertson girls’ soccer players were honored with selection to the all-District 1A-AAA team after cruising to their third consecutive district championship.

Additionally, three RHS boys’ team members were named to the all-district first team and three others to the second team.

Selections for all-district were released Monday by Matt Montoya, Pojoaque Valley athletic director and chairman of the district.

It’s the third straight year Parks — the longest serving head coach at Robertson High School — has earned the coach of the year distinction.

Joining Parks on the girls’ all-district squad are Robertson’s Taria Clayton (senior goalkeeper), Samantha Marshall (senior defender), Desiree Martinez (senior midfielder), Elena Martinez (freshman midfielder), Ariana Trujillo (senior forward), MariaLucia Carrillo (junior forward).

Trujillo and Marshall shared player of the year honors after leading the Lady Cardinals to a 14-6 overall record and a 4-0 mark in district play. The team earned its first state postseason win, a 3-0 shutout of Miyamura in pool play, on Oct. 31 in Bernalillo. A 6-0 loss to top-ranked Sandia Prep the previous day, however, essentially prevented RHS from advancing in the tournament. Bosque School eventually upset Sandia Prep in the final, the only time this season a Class 3A team had beaten the Sundevils.

Coach Clarence Montoya guided the RHS boys to a 10-9 overall record and a 5-3 mark in district, one game behind champ Moreno Valley.

Cardinals making the all-district first team are Isaac Hidalgo (sophomore defender), Keen Martinez (sophomore midfielder) and Henry Robertson (sophomore forward).

On the second team are Robertson’s Tobin Lobdell (junior defender), Mark Hidalgo (junior defender) and R.J. McNellis (junior midfielder).

Rounding out the boys’ all-district team: first-teamers Cameron Colenda (junior goalkeeper, Moreno Valley), Daniel Torres (junior defender, Moreno Valley), Caleb Stewart (senior defender, Moreno Valley), Javier Vigil (senior midfielder, Questa), Tim Bernard (junior midfielder, Pojoaque), Michael Visarraga (senior midfielder, Peñasco), Nick Bodrug (senior forward, Moreno Valley), Daniel Herrera (senior forward, Questa), Brandon Gurule (senior forward, Peñasco).

Moreno Valley’s Debra Ledford was named coach of the year, with Bodrug and Herrera garnering player of the year honors.

Rounding out the girls’ all-district first team: Elizabeth Sandoval (senior defender, Pojoaque), Chelsey Hoffman (junior defender, Pojoaque), Anne Hajovsky, senior defender), Stevirae Terrazas (senior, Pojoaque), Jessie Mackey (senior, midfielder), Cristina Carbajal (freshman forward, Pojoaque), and Hannah Ables (senior forward, Moreno Valley).