RHS reaps All-State soccer acclaim

-A A +A
By Dave Kavanaugh

Robertson High sophomore forward Caitlin Diefendorf led a list of 10 local athletes honored on All-State soccer teams recognized by New Mexico High School Soccer Coaches Association.

Over the past couple years, Diefendorf has emerged as a prolific scorer for the Lady Cardinals, helping lead a run to the state quarterfinals last fall under longtime mentor Ray Parks and the state semifinals this past month with coach Ian Williamson.

She finished second in the state overall — regardless of classification — in scoring with 117 points, 50 goals and 17 assists.

Diefendorf was one of 13 players — and one of just three from public schools — to be recognized on the girls’ All-State first team for Class 1A-3A.

Two seniors who’ve been key to the team’s recent successes — midfielder Elena Martinez and defender Kristen Montaño — earned selection to the All-State second team.

Martinez had 22 goals, 20 assists; Montaño 12 and seven, respectively, while leading the sweepers for RHS.

Making honorable mention for the self-dubbed “Beastie Girls” are senior goalkeeper Ashley Jaramillo (0.95552 goals-against average; three goals, four assists as a field player), senior defender Katie Houdek (five goals, 13 assists), sophomore midfielder Amber Yara (three goals, nine assists), freshman forward Morgan Diefendorf (29 goals, 14 assists) and senior forward Tori Gallegos (four goals, five assists).

Hope Christian senior Devin Hart was named Player of the Year.

Bosque’s Robyn Serge is Coach of the Year.

On the boys’ side, Robertson’s Jalen Martinez and Brandon Trujillo were named honorable mentions on the all-state team for coach Clarence Montoya.

Martinez, a senior midfielder, had earned Player of the Year honors in district. He finished with 23 goals and seven assists. Trujillo, a junior forward, tallied 25 goals and 11 assists, tied for third in the classification.

Sandia Prep’s Preston Houser was named Player of the Year in Class 1A-3A boys’ soccer; Steve Kokulis of Hope Christian and Prep’s Tommy Smith share Coach of the Year honors.