North vs. South

-A A +A
By Dave Kavanaugh

For one last time, Kristen Encinias will play basketball for coach Jose “Majic” Medina.

As West Las Vegas’ girls’ coach, Medina will undoubtedly miss Encinias’ dependable performance in the paint, her steady free throw shooting and her leadership in the locker room when the Lady Dons open camp this coming season.

But the two will team up once more on Friday night, wearing the red of the Class 3A North All-Stars instead of the green and gold of WLV.

The girls’ hoops contest begins shortly after a 6 p.m. ceremony at Highlands’ Wilson Complex, and it commences two evenings of All-Star competition. The boys’ basketball game immediately follows the girls’ game. On Saturday evening, also at 6, a week of activities culminates with the North-South football showdown at Perkins Stadium.

Admission is $4 each night, with children 10 and younger getting in free.

For most of this weekend’s athletes, each of whom just graduated from high school, it will be one last hurrah in organized competitive sports, though a few will move on to play on the college level.

Selections for the teams are made by coaches in the region, and the event is sanctioned by the New Mexico High School Coaches Association. Local businessman Connie Trujillo and a team of volunteers, with the help of sponsors, stage a week’s worth of activities for the participants.

Several changes have been made to the lineups. The updated, final rosters for this weekend are as follows.

North girls’ basketball

Head coach: Jose Medina, WLV

Players: Jen Najjar, St. Mike’s; Kayla Herrera, St. Mike’s; Kim Mares, Robertson; Ashley Lucero, Robertson; Ellen Cruz, Pojoaque; Brittany Charles, Crownpoint; Alexandra Romancito, Zuni; Janelle Roybal, Pojoaque; Kristen Encinias, WLV: Crystal Tully, Crownpoint; Jackie Bartleson, Pojoaque.

South girls’ basketball

Head coach: Terrance Butler, Thoreau

Players: Tara Johnson, Portales; Etheleen Goombi; Tonee Montoya, Ruidoso; Bailey Shrivers, Hot Springs; Amanda Adams, Hatch Valley; Dallas Russell, Portales; Melissa Garcia, Hot Springs; Jozie Arviso, Ruidoso; Haley Williams, Ruidoso; RayLynn Emerson, Thoreau; Jessica Pound, Socorro; Ramona Ramone, Thoreau.

North boys’ basketball

Head coach: Albert Jim Jr., Tohatchi

Players: Jordan Naranjo, Santa Fe Indian; Jordan Romero, St. Mike’s; Orlando Trujillo, Pojoaque; Benjamin Roybal, Pojoaque; John Martinez, WLV; Cade Payne, Bloomfield; Michael Perez, Pojoaque; Adrian Rivera, WLV; Michael Yardman-Frank, St. Mike’s; Diego Ulibarri, St. Mike’s.

South boys’ basketball

Head coach: Pilar Carrasco, NMMI

Players: Nick Bliss, Portales; Matt Escajeda, Hope Christian; Reid Sharpe, NMMI; Taylor Gobble, Hatch; Joe Rodriguez, Cobre; Walker Partin, Portales; Conner Pierce, Hope; William Archibeque, Portales

North football

Head coach: Mike Maldonado, formerly of WLV

Players: Miguel Garcia, Robertson; Daryl Martinez, Robertson; Seth Mason, Bloomfield; Derek Gold, WLV; Elias Armenta, Bloomfield; Zack Armijo, WLV; Ambrosio Tafoya, WLV; Robert Aleshire, Bloomfield; Antoine Corrales, St. Mike’s; Manuel Trujillo, St. Mike’s; John Armijo, WLV; Emery Holyan, Wingate; Frank Martinez, Robertson; Anthony DeHerrera, Bloomfield; Larry Bell, Bloomfield; Brandon Jordan, Robertson; Robert Lopez, WLV; Isaac Duarte, Bloomfield; Emory Atterberry, St. Mike’s; Honorio Alba, Raton; Nathan Abreu, Robertson; Anthony Cantu, St. Mike’s.

South football

Head coach: Andy Correll, Portales

Players: Justin McNett, Cobre; Joseph Berridge, Hatch; Nic Carson, Hatch; Max Gillis, Hatch; Elias Mora, Socorro; E’lon Cox, Cobre; Cooper McDaniel, Lovington; Michael Trujillo, Portales; Brandon McAfee, Portales; Andre Gonzales, Socorro; Marcos Rubio, Ruidoso; Jagg Lovato, Hatch; Manny Gallegos, Lovington; Tobias Rodriguez, Cobre; Justin Calder, Lovington; Earl Covin, Ruidoso; Manuel Lucero, Cobre; Chantz Clayton, Lovington; A.J. Vigil, Cobre; David Guzman, Lovington; Weston Tremell, Lovington; Josh Hamilton, Ruidoso; Adam Casey, Socorro; Daniel Boykin, Socorro; Adrian Gutierrez, Portales; Ethan Grubbs, Portales; Devon Stinson, Portales; Keith Brower, Ruidoso.