Newly elected officials take oath

-A A +A
By Ruth Fort

Elected officials of Mora County were sworn into office at 5 p.m. on December 30 at the VFW Post 1131. The Honorable  Abigail Aragon, district judge, administered the oath of office to the officials.

There were more than120 citizens of Mora County who attended the event and supported the swearing in of the elected officials of Mora County.

Jacobo Pacheco served as master of ceremonies. He honored all of the past and current officials of Mora County. In his address to the audience he shared his insight on the commitment that it takes to be an elected official of Mora County.

Sam Muniz,Commander of the VFW, lead the group in honoring our flag with the Pledge of Allegiance.

Father James Sanchez and Deacon Eloy Roybal performed the benediction for the newly elected officials. Both asked the blessing on the community and the newly elected officials. After the program and a meal District Judge Abigail Aragon performed the inauguration ceremonies for each of the six officials.

The officials who were sworn in were Paula Garcia County Commissioner – District One and John P. Olivas County Commissioner - District Two. Others who took the oath of office were John L. Sanchez, Magistrate Judge, Thomas E. Garza, Mora County Sheriff, Paul M. Duran, Mora County Assessor and Edward Aragon, Probate Judge.

After the ceremony each of the officials had the opportunity to address the crowd. They thanked them for their support and thanked the voters for allowing them to serve. The officials took office on Monday, Jan. 3 and begin a new term of office to serve the citizens of Mora County.

Ruth Fort is a Mora County correspondent. She may  be reached at (575) 387-6523 or ruthfortchacon@yahoo.com.