Graham, Sedillo: Scholar-Athletes

-A A +A

Highlands seniors honored by RMAC for academics

Angella Graham and Cruz Sedillo, both New Mexico Highlands University senior athletes, are getting to close their undergraduate careers with a notable academic achievement.

Graham and Sedillo are Highlands’ choices for Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Scholar-Athlete for 2010-11.

The league office announced the full list of honorees this past Thursday.

Administrators from each of the 14 schools in the RMAC selected one male and one female student-athlete to receive the award. To be eligible, the honorees have to have competed as a starter or reserve on their respective teams, maintaining a 3.3 grade point average or better with good academic standing at the school for two or more seasons.

Graham, a seven-time All-American in women’s track and field, posted a 3.57 GPA majoring in health. Graham is from Trelawney, Jamaica.

Sedillo played for a Highlands baseball team that won league titles one year ago. A native of Corrales, he maintained a 3.8 GPA majoring in exercise science.

The full list of RMAC Scholar-Athletes for 2010-11 follows.

Adams State College: Luke Cragg, cross country and track and field; Kristen McGlynn, cross country and track and field.

Chadron State College: Cory Beran, football; Jamie Mazankowski, softball.

Colorado Christian University: Stephanie Allen, basketball; Lane Schulz, soccer.

Colorado School of Mines: Jordan Larsen, wrestling; Jessica Stark, soccer.

Colorado State University-Pueblo: Morgan Forsyth, tennis; Lee Meisner, football.

Fort Lewis College: Nick Frizzell, football; Ashley Kelly, cross country.

Mesa State College: Jessica Berve, golf; Jake Jobe, soccer.

Metropolitan State College of Denver: Danni Hedstrom, softball; David Kaplan, baseball.

NMHU: Angella Graham, track and field; Cruz Sedillo, baseball.

Regis University: Matthew Drake, cross country; Devin Eckhardt, volleyball.

University of Colorado at Colorado Springs: Matt Friesen, soccer; Lauren Graham, track and field.

University of Nebraska at Kearney: Andrew Haake, baseball; Katlyn Heiserman, volleyball.

Western New Mexico University: Yair Banuelos, tennis; Natali Murdock, volleyball.

Western State College: Laurin Kleppin, cross country and track and field; Ryan Walstrom, football and track and field.