FFA takes top spot in tournament

-A A +A

By Allison Martinez
Las Vegas FFA Reporter

Two of the Las Vegas FFA Parliamentary Procedure teams recently traveled to Phoenix to compete at the Josh Morgan Memorial Parliamentary Procedure Tournament.

The Las Vegas FFA senior team placed first at the tournament. The team consisted of Luke Romero, Clay Prieskorn, Manny Villanueva, Ramos Aragon, Tabitha Sanchez and Sharissa Higgins.

Outstanding individuals were also recognized for their efforts. Clay Prieskorn was recognized for top member which accumulates his debate, test and question-answering scores, and Ramos Aragon was recognized for top chairman.

The Las Vegas FFA Novice team also participated in the tournament and placed second in the novice division. This team consisted of Curtis Lucero, Esperanza Martinez, Toby Sanchez, Megan Pino, Amador Gonzales, Geraldine Barreras, Arianna Romero and Aaron Campbell.

The competition was held in conjunction with the Arizona National Livestock show at the Arizona State Fairgrounds in Phoenix. This was in preparation for the state competition in New Mexico.

In mid-January, the Senior Parliamentary Procedure team traveled to Portales, for the state competition, where they placed first. This is the third State Parliamentary Procedure Championship for the Las Vegas-Robertson FFA Chapter in the last four years.  They will be competing at the National FFA Convention in Louisville, Ky., next fall.

The team also had an award given to their chairman, Ramos Aragon, for the “Best Chair” in the state. This award has also been given to a Las Vegas Robertson High team in the past three years. The team extended thanks to the community and their supporters.