Campbell, Kanneh All-Americans

-A A +A
By Dave Kavanaugh

A prolific, high-scoring offense garnered plenty of headlines this past fall for the New Mexico Highlands football team, but it was a pair of defensive players whose performance earned All-American honors from the Beyond Sports Network.
Middle linebacker Jordan Campbell and cornerback Abdul Kanneh were both selected to Beyond Sports’ All-America first team for NCAA Division II football.
Campbell and Kanneh, both seniors for the Cowboys, were also named to the Daktronics All-Super Region Four first team. In Eric Young’s second season as head coach, NMHU went 8-3, its best record since the late 1990s.
Campbell led the Cowboys with 104 tackles, including 23 for a combined loss of 127 yards, and 12 sacks. He also had three pass break-ups, eight quarterback hurries, three forced fumbles and one fumble recovery. He was an All-RMAC performer both seasons he played with Highlands and set a league record with 28.5 tackles for loss in 2011.
Campbell is a 6-0, 230-pounder from Corona, Calif.
Kanneh also earned two All-RMAC first team selections in as many seasons. He recorded 67 tackles, including 4.5 for loss of 26 yards, one sack and a team-best six interceptions returned for a combined 191 yards. He also broke up 16 passes and blocked three kicks, both team highs.
Kanneh is a 6-0, 170-pounder from London.
Other Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference players honored on the Beyond Sports first team, All-America: tight end David Pawelek and punter Taylor Accardi of Colorado School of Mines; and Kevin Lindholm of Chadron State. Chadron kicker Alex Ferdinand was a second-team selection. CSUP quarterback Ross Dausin and punt returner Josh Sandoval joined Western New Mexico wideout Marquis Sumpter on the third team. CSUP offensive tackle Ryan Jensen is an honorable mention.
Quarterback Zach Zulli of Shippensburg was named Offensive Player of the Year; Missouri Southern defensive tackle Brandon Williams is Defensive Player of the Year. St. Augustine’s kick return specialist Tyron Laughinghouse was Special Teams Player of the Year.
Campbell, Kanneh and eight other Cowboys were honored on All-RMAC teams at season’s end.